This website was discontinued on 20/12/2022. Visit the new website at

Skip nav

R&D Projects

Confirmed projects database queries

The information may be unavailable due to the results not being approved or confirmed. In particular, when a call includes regions where projects are cofunded by EC funds and others where that is not the case, confirmation or approval may be not simultaneous.

Proposals for Research Projects in all Scientific Domains - 2006

Physical Sciences

    Painel de Avaliação de Física - 2006
  • Denis Weaire
  • Malcolm Longair
  • Martial Ducloy
  • Mike Hopkins
  • Lászlo Pál Csernai
  • Jon Otto Fossum

Gravitational waves: emission and detection. Vitor Cardoso, Associação para o Desenvolvimento do Departamento de Física da Universidade de Coimbra (ADDFUC/FCT/UC). €100,380.


Transport properties of graphene and related systems. Nuno Miguel Machado Reis Peres, Universidade do Minho (UM). €94,971.


Coherent structures in periodic and discrete dissipative nonlinear systems. Valeriy Brazhnyy, Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade do Porto (FCUP/UP). €55,000.


From particles to compact stars. Maria Constança Mendes Pinheiro da Providência Santarém e Costa, Associação para o Desenvolvimento do Departamento de Física da Universidade de Coimbra (ADDFUC/FCT/UC). €136,312.


Studies of fermionic and bosonic ultra-cold atoms systems. José Manuel Pereira Carmelo, Universidade do Minho (UM). €110,000.


From molecular structure and dynamics to biaxial nematic phases. Carlos Manuel dos Santos Rodrigues da Cruz, Fundação da Universidade de Lisboa (FUL/ULisboa). €111,512.


XENON Dark Matter Direct Search: scintillation output studies. José António Matias-Lopes, Associação para o Desenvolvimento do Departamento de Física da Universidade de Coimbra (ADDFUC/FCT/UC). €134,900.


Ternary and quaternary nitride alloys for lattice matched heterostructures: Novel materials for high efficiency field effect transistors and optoelectronic devices. Katharina Lorenz, Instituto Superior Técnico (IST/ULisboa). €153,240.


Development of a very large field of view gamma ray telescope. Bernardo António Neto Gomes Baptista Tomé, Laboratório de Instrumentação e Física Experimental de Partículas (LIP). €155,000.


Characterization of organic electronic materials and devices (DevCOM). Peter Stallinga, Universidade do Algarve (UAlg). €171,016.


Single emission photon counting - gama detectors for medical imaging. João Filipe Calapez de Albuquerque Veloso, Universidade de Aveiro (UA). €139,628.


Studies on the Transport of Ions in Gases: Theory, Experiments and Applications. Carlos Alberto Nabais Conde, Associação para o Desenvolvimento do Departamento de Física da Universidade de Coimbra (ADDFUC/FCT/UC). €164,000.


Few-Body Approach to Direct Nuclear Reactions. António Carlos de Sá Fonseca, Fundação da Universidade de Lisboa (FUL/ULisboa). €75,000.


Simulation Tools for Atmospheric Pressure Microwave-Driven Mini-Plasmas. Luís Lemos Alves, Instituto Superior Técnico (IST/ULisboa). €84,646.


Ion-implanted magnetic nanolayers of wide band gap semiconductors for spintronics applications. Ulrich Wahl, Instituto Superior Técnico (IST/ULisboa). €157,980.


Harnessing the power of ultra intense lasers in plasmas for ultra fast science. Luís Miguel de Oliveira e Silva, Instituto Superior Técnico (IST/ULisboa). €162,349.


Science Simulations for the SKA: Reionization and Weak Lensing. Mario Goncalo Rodrigues dos Santos, Instituto Superior Técnico (IST/ULisboa). €61,136.


Feasibility study of using Compton scattering for medical imaging with positrons. Vitali Iourievitch Tchepel, Laboratório de Instrumentação e Física Experimental de Partículas (LIP). €72,000.


Ionization of Laser Selected Vibrationally Excited Fullerenes. Rui Filipe dos Reis Marmont Lobo, Fundação da Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia da Universidade Nova de Lisboa (FFCT/FCT/UNL). €198,324.


QCM_Model - Modelling and new protocols of quartz crystal microbalance measurements for biomedical applications. Natália Maria de Araújo Alves, Universidade do Minho (UM). €143,329.


Nuclear Physics beyond the drip-lines. Lidia dos santos Ferreira, Instituto Superior Técnico (IST/ULisboa). €76,398.


Coherent Optical Effects in Multiple Scattering Systems with Gain. Michael Scott Belsley, Universidade do Minho (UM). €156,719.


ProteoLight - Evaluation and development of fluorescent probe techniques for the study of protein conformation on polymer surfaces. Joao Filipe Colardelle da Luz Mano, Universidade do Minho (UM). €150,824.


Cathode spots in high-pressure DC gas discharges: self-organization phenomena. Mikhail Benilov, Universidade da Madeira (UMA). €70,000.


Particle Physics at the LHC - Large Hadron Collider - and at the ILC - International Linear Collider. Pedro Ferreira, Fundação da Universidade de Lisboa (FUL/ULisboa). €190,184.


Physics and technology of Si1-xGex nanocrystals-based floating-gate flash memory with high-k tunneling/control dielectrics. Maria de Jesus de Matos Gomes, Universidade do Minho (UM). €153,182.


Electronic transport and magnetic dynamics in low-dimensional magnetic systems and nanostructures. Vítor João Rocha Vieira, Instituto Superior Técnico (IST/ULisboa). €109,188.


Investigation of the physics of supersonic compressible turbulence by high-resolution numerical simulations of molecular clouds in star forming galaxies. Miguel Ângelo Pignatelli de Avillez Nunes Pereira, Universidade de Évora (UE). €121,568.


Modeling of Complex Evolutionary processes. Jorge Manuel dos Santos Pacheco, Fundação da Universidade de Lisboa (FUL/ULisboa). €65,000.


High energy few-cycle laser pulses: extending the limits of optical parametric chirped pulse amplification. Gonçalo Nuno Marmelo Foito Figueira, Instituto Superior Técnico (IST/ULisboa). €120,000.


New critical effects in complex networks: application to information and biological networks. José Fernando Ferreira Mendes, Universidade de Aveiro (UA). €110,000.


Plasma-based sources of high energy particles and radiation. Marta Fajardo, Instituto Superior Técnico (IST/ULisboa). €178,536.


UNIME - Unimolecular Electronics. Jorge Manuel Ferreira Morgado, Instituto de Telecomunicações (IT). €160,338.


Low-dimensional diluted magnetic oxide structures. Nikolai Andreevitch Sobolev, Universidade de Aveiro (UA). €179,897.


Study of bioluminescence processes. Miguel Alexandre Lopes Marques, Associação para o Desenvolvimento do Departamento de Física da Universidade de Coimbra (ADDFUC/FCT/UC). €158,946.


Nanobiodetection based on optical nano-sensors and gold nanoparticles probe Systems: NANOBIOS. Rodrigo Martins, Instituto de Desenvolvimento de Novas Tecnologias (UNINOVA). €174,240.


Origin of polar state in relaxors via Scanning Probe Microscopy. Andrei Kholkin, Universidade de Aveiro (UA). €119,724.